Self-Assembly Lab

Research Team

Skylar Tibbits - Co-Director, MIT
Jared Laucks - Co-Director, MIT
Schendy Kernizan - Project Manager, MIT
Athina Papadopoulou - PHD Candidate, Design Computation, MIT
Bjorn Sparrman - Research Specialist, MIT
Cosima Du Pasquier - Mechanical Engineering, ETH Zurich
Kate Hajash - Design Computation, MIT
Maggie Hughes - Wellesley
Kate Weishaar - Architecture, MIT
Hannah Lienhard - Mechanical Engineering, MIT
Rami Rustom - MIT
Anastasia Hiller - MIT


Jonah Ross-Marrs - Design Computation, MIT
Hunmin Koh - Design Computation, MIT
Willy Wu - MIT
Richard Huizar - Mechanical Engineering, MIT
Dimitrios Mairopoulos - Research Specialist, MIT
Lina Kara'in - Research Specialist, MIT
Fano Razafindrakoto - Mechanical Engineering, MIT
Brian Huang - MIT
Nynika Jhavari - Wellesley
Cynthia Lo - Materials Science, MIT
Anthony Kawecki - MIT
Sofie Belanger - MIT
Alexis Sablone - MArch Candidate, MIT
Sulaiman Alothman - Architectural Association
Jaskirat Singh Randhawa - Parsons School of Design
Nynika Jhaveri - Architecture, Wellesley
George Varnavides - Civil Engineering & Materials Science, MIT
Jacquelyn L Liu - Computer Science, MIT
Carrie McKnelly - Design & Computation, MIT
Jennifer Glerum - Materials Science, MIT
Ellie Klose - MIT
Khanh Nguyen - Mechanical Engineering, MIT
Daniel Huertas - Mechanical Engineering, MIT
Christophe Guberan - Visiting Product Designer, Switzerland
Graham Francis - Mechanical Engineering, MIT
Hannarae Nam - Mechanical Engineering & Computer Science, MIT
Baily Zuniga - Design & Computationa / Architecture, MIT
Chris Martin - Masters of Architecture, MIT
Tyler Crain - Masters of Architecture, MIT
Tucker Cheyne - Mechanical Engineering, MIT
Suramya Kedia - Architecture, Wellesley & MIT
Juanita Ballesteros - Architecture, MIT
Marianna Gonzalez - Architecture, Wellesley & MIT
Amir Soltanian - Biomedical Engineering, Boston University
Monica Zhou - Architecture & Neuroscience, Harvard & MIT
Anna Falvello - Architecture & Civil Engineering, MIT
Meng Chen - Architecture, Havard & MIT
Noa Flaherty - Mechanical Engineering, MIT
Candace Chen - Mechanical Engineering, MIT

About the Directors

Jared Laucks is a trained designer and fabrication specialist. He is currently a Research Scientist and Co-Director at the Self-Assembly Lab in the Department of Architecture, MIT. Jared holds a Masters of Science from the MIT Media Lab where he focused on robotic and biological fabrication methods and was instrumental in a number of projects including the Silk Pavilion. He obtained a Bachelor of Architecture with a focus in digital technologies from Philadelphia University. Prior to MIT, Jared practiced at Interface Studio Architects, Theverymany and taught a number of architecture courses. He is a regular studio critic for MIT courses. He continues to develop research and project based work publications and exhibits worldwide.


Skylar Tibbits is a Co-Director and the Founder of the Self-Assembly Lab housed at MIT’s International Design Center. The Self-Assembly Lab focuses on self-assembly and programmable material technologies for novel manufacturing, products and construction processes. 

Skylar is an Assistant Professor of Design Research in the Department of Architecture where he teaches graduate and undergraduate design studios and How to Make (Almost) Anything, a seminar at MIT's Media Lab with Neil Gershenfeld. Skylar was recently named R&D Magazine's 2015 Innovator of the Year, 2015 National Geographic Emerging Explorer, 2014 Inaugural WIRED Fellow, 2014 Gifted Citizen, 2013 Fast Company Innovation by Design Award, 2013 Architectural League Prize, The Next Idea Award at Ars Electronica 2013, Visionary Innovation Award at the Manufacturing Leadership Summit, 2012 TED Senior Fellow and was named a Revolutionary Mind in SEED Magazine’s 2008 Design Issue.

Previously, he has worked at a number of renowned design offices including: Zaha Hadid Architects, Asymptote Architecture and Point b Design. He has designed and built large-scale installations at galleries around the world, has been published extensively in outlets such as the New York Times, Wired, Nature, Fast Company as well as various peer-reviewed journals and books.

Skylar has a Professional Degree in Architecture and minor in experimental computation from Philadelphia University. Continuing his education at MIT, he received a Masters of Science in Design Computation and a Masters of Science in Computer Science under the guidance of; Patrick Winston, Terry Knight, Erik Demaine and Neil Gershenfeld.

Initiated in 2007, Skylar Tibbits is also the founder and principal of a multidisciplinary design practice, SJET LLC. 

A number of influential collaborations include:
Neil Gershenfeld, Director of The Center for Bits and Atoms | Arthur Olson, Director of the Molecular Graphics Lab at The Scripps Research Institute | Shelly Linor, Daniel Dikovsky and Shai Hirsch of Stratasys | Carlos Olguin, Director of the Bio/Nano Programmable Matter Research Group at Autodesk | Erik and Marty Demaine at MIT, CSAIL | Adam Bly, CEO of SEED Media Group | Benjamin Aranda and Chris Lasch, Principals of Aranda/Lasch | Matt Trimble, Principal of RadLab | Marc Fornes, Principal of THEVERYMANY | Jared Laucks, Brandon Kruysman, Jonathan Proto and many others....

MIT's International Design Center (IDC)

The Self-Assembly Lab is located in MIT's International Design Center, a cross-disciplinary design research center. The Singapore University of Technology and Design was established in collaboration with MIT to advance knowledge and nurture technically grounded leaders and innovators to serve societal needs. This will be accomplished, with a focus on Design, through an integrated multi-disciplinary curriculum and multi-disciplinary research.